Resort 2017

Not sure what to make of the Resort collections. It has always been a season that is up for interpretation and here it continues to be like California Architecture – a mix of all styles.  Choosing favorites becomes even harder  because I am choosing between drastically different types of collections.  Some are chic and breezy for a vacation while others are showing outerwear and brocade. I tend to lean toward the more warm weather wear for this season as it just feels like the more natural definition of RESORT. That being said here are my favorites.

Antonio Marras

What I love about this aside from the sense of nostalgia, is the way the patterns are mixed and sewn. The dresses have a certain old timey feel that appeals to my desire to play dress up.

antonio marras

ADEAM

As a big cardigan fan I can’t help but have a visceral response to cardigans looking cool and not conservative. Others often remark I look like a librarian or a teacher when sporting one of my many handy, lightweight layering pieces. So to see the cardigan shine here (not through embellishment or pattern) is pretty nifty. I also find the use of shape and proportion intriguing. The wide trousers, which are becoming more and more prevalent on runways are extreme yet still classic.  They choose a  pinstripe which is unusual for resort but it’s brilliant here where it acts as a more sophisticated seersucker. The touches of girlishness seen in the bows and flounces are paired with the more masculine stripe resulting in an easy, chic vibe.

adeam

Elizabeth and James

This is truly a Resort collection. Wherever these girls are going I want to go too. This is elegant, breezy, sophisticated and cool. I’m feeling Belize, Cannes, the Spanish Rivera? A glistening aqua pool overlooking a magnificent vista. Sign me up – and pack these clothes.

elizabeth-and-james

Nina Ricci

Ricci strikes the perfect balance between modern cool girl and retro 1930’s cool girl.

nina-ricci

Markus Lupfer

This looks more like Markus Lupfer for Target. It’s a decidedly commercial outing but that’s okay with me. Particularly for the resort season where you are supposedly shopping to supplement your transitional wardrobe or for a tropical vacation. Ahh the good old days when flying was a glamorous and exciting endeavor,  not like being on a city bus. Anywaaaaaaay, these are all solid items that work for either requirement. The palm print is a long time favorite of mine and I am pleased to see it come back into fashion. Showing it in navy/black is a nice variation on the classic green/white combo.

markus-lupfer

Anna Sui

I guess I would consider my personal style somewhere between gothic and bohemian. With that in mind this collection offers some very wearable and practical items for either my pseudo goth vacation, or just a nifty new dress or cardigan to blend into that eclectic closet of mine. Love the nod to grunge in the dresses but not quite sure I could ever wear a choker again. Like a former hippie swearing off bellbottoms or a yuppie rejecting shoulder pads, sometimes you just can’t/won’t go back.

anna-sui

Di$count Universe Australia

So apparently I need to go to Australia and get a job working with these two chicks. They are having entirely too much fun down there and it is blasted all over these clothes. The cut on the pink blazer is perfection and the leather shirt/jacket whatever that is – covered in studs is so obvious I cant believe I haven’t seen it before. The boots are outrageous and the color combinations are dead on. Rock and roll is alive and well in the upside-down.

dicount-universe-australia

Gucci

Here is what resort looks like when you give absolutely no fucks about what season you are designing for. I continue my love hate relationship (one sided) with the latest incarnation of this iconic house. The embellishments are getting even more insane to the point where I almost get angry about the gall of this guy! How dare he pile it on with total abandon, doesn’t he know where he works? Its like a slap in the face to the history of the house. A once elegant and daresay preppy powerhouse is now known for its insane hipster/dork gaudiness. It irks me to see the association because it’s just too drastic, but I cannot look away. Worn all together makes me want to cover my ears it’s so loud but if you pull out items on their own they are just. so. cool. ARRRRGH! SO COOOOOOOL. Green leopard coat? Yes. Silk printed skirt? Yep. Sneaky snake and floral printed spring dress? Uh huh. Tartan, leopard, stripes, cats, tigers, roses? Yes! I give up! You win Mr. Alessandro Michele. As if I stood a chance…

gucci-1

gucci

 

 

Leave a Reply

